Happy National Poetry Month

National Months, if their topic is dear to one’s heart, can be useful, even something to look forward to. This blog was started, in fact, by the intention to “do something” for NaPoMo (the inevitable nickname), although I never joined an oulipo marathon as I had intended. Time always seems to be run out, but this month is something set aside. Almost like a bank, it makes me consider writing a poem every day, posting a poem every day, even reading a poem every day (although that doesn’t need a month for obsessives like me). Time was running away, so I didn’t post daily or even weekly as I’d planned. But reading another poet’s blog, where she brought up NaPoMo on April 10th, I decided not to let it having been National Tax Month do away entirely with Poetry, thinking I haven’t yet run out of time. So I’ll file a few poems and other poetry-related writings before it slips away entirely…
image

A Cucubano, a bioluminescent clicking cricket found in Puerto Rico. In an abandoned building, on the ceiling, they gave the illusion of the electricity being on. That’s how bright they were. May poetry bring us all that illusion!

Leave a comment

Filed under Nature, Poetry

Leave a Reply

