Timothy Murphy: Mentor

This moving poem by Timothy Murphy, a master craftsman, especially with the understated but highly emotional, shows his use of few words to get at the heart:

Mentor

By
Timothy Murphy

For Robert Francis

Had I known, only known
when I lived so near,
I’d have gone, gladly gone
foregoing my fear
of the wholly grown
and the nearly great.
But I learned alone,
so I learned too late.

from The Formalist, A Journal of Metrical Poetry, Volume 12, Issue 1, 2001
University of Evansville, Evansville, IN

Copyright 2001 by Timothy Murphy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Formal Poetry, Poetry

Leave a Reply

